Local booker: 10 literary awards in the eastern partnership countries

In six countries of the region, there are several dozens of different prizes in literature which are awarded annually. We publish a short list of some of them, which are worth to know about.


The Vahan Tekeyan Prize has been awarded since 2004 in several categories including "Fiction". Citizens of Armenia, as well as the Armenian diaspora, are eligible to apply for the nominee. Laureates receive a diploma, a medal and a money prize.


The Golden word Prize ( "Qizil Kəlmə") — is awarded every two years during the first ten days of May (in 2017 the deadline for applications is April 15) and it aims to promote the creative works of talented writers. Winners receive a diploma, a medal and a money prize.



Jerzy Giedroyc Literary Prize has been given since 2012 for the best prose book published in the previous year and written in Belarusian. Winners receive money prizes and creative trips.


The Golden Apostrophe Prize, established by the literary and art magazine "Dzeyasloў" (the Union of Belarusian Writers), is awarded for the best prose, poetry and debut of the authors who have been publishing in the journal during the year.



Saba Prize has been awarded since 2003. They evaluate the literary process and identify the best writers of the year. Winners in 11 nominations receive Saba's Statuette and money prizes (This year the prize fund is about $20 000).


Vazha-Pshavela Prize has been awarded since 2015 every two years for creativity, development and overall contribution to fiction of Georgia. In addition to the money prize of 10 000 GEL (~ US $ 3800), a laureate receives a gold medal.


Metaphora Prize — is a private literary award for translators in the genres of "poetry" and "essays" for translations from all the European languages except Russian. The monetary value of the prizes is $600.


Joseph Conrad Korzeniowski Literary Prize was established by the Polish Institute in Kyiv and is awarded once in two years to the Ukrainian writers, not older than 40 years. A laureate receives 3000 euros and a scholarship for six months' residence in Poland.


BBC Ukrainian Book of the Year — is the annual literary prize for the best works of fiction in the Ukrainian language. Two winning authors are awarded  £1,000 for each book in the Ukrainian hryvnya equivalent. The publishers of the winning books will have the right to use the logos of the BBC Ukrainian book awards for subsequent editions.



The White Moor — is the first independent literary prize in Moldova, which is given to Russian-speaking writers living in Moldova. The winner of the award receives a "Silver Horseshoe" prize.

Other interesting stories: